The Coos Bay Harbor Safety Committee (CBHSC) is a volunteer committee comprised of industry stakeholders; local, state and federal agencies; and waterway user groups to help improve local coordination and leadership within the nation's ports. The committee was created under the recommendation of the Interagency Committee for the Maritime Transportation System (ICMTS) and the MTS National Advisory Council (MRSNAC) which were created following a report to congress from the Maritime Transportation System (MTS) Task Force in September of 1999. The Task Force was appointed to assess the adequacy of the nation's marine transportation system. 

CBHSC Charter
NVIC No. 1-00

Meetings are held on the third Tuesday of every month.  
Port of Coos Bay Second Floor Conference Room located at 125 Central Ave, Suite 230, Coos Bay, OR 97420. 


The purpose of the CBHSC is to recommend actions to improve the safety, security, mobility and environmental protection of Coos Bay and its waterways through: 

  • Effective communication and coordination between stakeholders
  • Alignment with local, state and federal laws and regulations 
  • Identification and mitigation of hazards to navigational safety
  • Collaboration with governmental agencies to improve and promote maritime and environmental safety within the committee's area of responsibility.

Members of the Committee

The Committee General membership is responsible for providing recommendations, direction, and support within the committee's area of responsibility. The CBHSC's area of responsibility begins at the seaward approaches into Coos Bay and continues into the bay, and includes navigable tributaries within the bay. 

Board Members
Richard Dybevik (Roseburg Forest Products) - Chair
George Wales (Coos Bay Pilots) - Vice Chair
Gabe Fabrizio (Coos County Sheriff's Office) - Secretary
Pat Goll (Ocean Terminals) - Board Member
Pete Billeter (Billeter Marine) - Board Member
Mike Dunning (Port of Coos Bay)  - Board Member
Rick Lilienthal (Fisherman) - Board Member

North Bend Fire Department
Sause Bros.
Coos Bay Pilots
Jones Stevedoring Company
Tyree Oil
Ocean Terminals
Commercial Fishermen
Coos County Sheriff's Office

Members include:
Port of Coos Bay
Oregon Chip Terminal
BIlleter Marine
Amergent Techs
Roseburg Forest Products
Oregon State Police 

Meeting Minutes and Agenda

November 21, 2017

October  17, 2017

September 19, 2017

July 18, 2017

May 16, 2017

April 18, 2017

March 21, 2017

February 21, 2017

January 17, 2017

January 11, 2017
Introduction Letter
Committee Letter

Get Involved!

Contact Richard Dybevik for more information on how to get involved. If you would like to become a member, please fill out the application form and
e-mail it to